I Guess Channing Tatum Admitted He Was An Alcoholic

Posted: May 20, 2014 by woody in Actual News, Movies
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Join the club my dude. Tatum was recently interviewed by GQ after being cast as Gambit in a future “X-Men” movie. In the interview, he admitted that he likes to have a good time. Tatum said, “I probably drink too much, you know. My wife, that’s what she bought into, I’m probably a pretty high-functioning, I guess, you know, I would say, alcoholic, I guess. There’s probably a tendency to escape. I equate it to creativity, and I definitely equate it to having a good time”. Thank fucking god someone finally calls a spade a spade. Channing, you just earned mad respect from me bro. Despite how much you tiptoed around the fact that you’re a alcoholic, like seriously say I guess more times, at least you came out and said it. “High-functioning alcoholic” is definitely my new go to term when describing myself too. And he just flat out nailed it when he talked about the tendency to escape, and equating it to creativity and having a good time. Every real person knows that and I hate how everyone tries to act like that’s not the case. How about instead of lying to ourselves and our kids about shit like alcohol and weed and whatever else we just tell them how it is and let them figure shit out for themselves.

On a completely separate note, Tatum is going to make a badass Gambit, my favorite X-Men character. He also spoke on his new role, “Gambit’s the only superhero I really followed. He was the most real to me: smoking, drinking, women loving, thief. He just looked cool to me. I’ve always loved him”. With every word Tatum said in this interview I realized more and more how much I feel like we would be best friends. Smoking, drinking, women-loving…what’s not to like? He even talked about an imaginary friend he used to have growing up, “His name was Boy. I think I just lived in an imaginary world. I was always playing war in the woods, people are chasing me. I wasn’t doing it because i was desperate for friends. I had friends”. Who didn’t play war in the woods growing up? Psycho’s that’s who. That’s all I fucking did. As far as the imaginary friend thing, I don’t hate it. I had two brothers and a couple friends who lived within walking distance of my house growing up, so I never really got much into the whole imaginary friend thing, but if I did his name definitely would have a better name than “boy”. Not gonna lie Tatum lost a little bit of his recently gained credit when I read that part. Like come on man, you claimed that you lived in an imaginary world, if you had a lot of imagination I’m sure you could have come up with something less generic than “boy”. That’s a fucking rookie move. But anyways, back to my original point when I started writing this, Tatum seems like someone I’d want to have a beer with, and can we all just agree to just tell it how it is instead of lying to ourselves and everyone else? End of rant.

 

Leave a Reply

