Socrates Philosophies and Hypotheses…

Posted: May 14, 2014 by snipe in Music
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This is admittedly out of nowhere but I was thinking about it in the car today. Triumph is my favorite song of all time. Inspectah Deck’s verse is my favorite verse of all time. Just absolutely timeless. I can’t even fathom that this song is over 20 years old. Unreal. Where did this music go? Fuck that Jesus guy, can we bring this shit back from the dead?

And now I present to you the 5 songs that would save hip-hop if they were to be released right now (does that sentence make sense?)

 

5. Renegade – Jay-Z ft. Eminem

I can’t believe this is #5 on this drunken list but it is what it is. What an absolutely unbelievable track. I’ve probably listened to this song 400,000 times in my life and I still can’t get enough of it. Two MC’s at the top of their game just shredding a beat to pieces with incredible lyrics.

“I’m just a kid from the gutter makin his butter off these bloodsuckers…” – touché Marshall

 

4. Life’s a Bitch – Nas ft. AZ

 

I’d quote something from the AZ verse but I’d end up just copy and pasting the entire thing because it is literally perfect.

 

3. Terminology – Circulate 

 

If you haven’t heard this song. You are a dumb person.

 

2. Gorgeous – Kanye West ft. Raekwon and Kid Cudi

This is admittedly a little more recent than the rest of this list. But this song is borderline unfair. From the opening line, Kanye paints such a clear picture of what he is trying to say. And then of course Raekwon seals the deal with a fire verse to end the 6 minute marathon of lyrical ejaculation. As sick of a fuck as Kanye has become in the eyes of the public, the dude makes incredible music and needs to be considered one of the most forward thinkers in the music industry in a very, very long time.

 

 

“Is hip-hop just a euphemism for a new religion? The soul music of the slaves that the youth is missin?”

 

1. Triumph – Wu-Tang Clan

I think about Wu-Tang all the time. Probably too much. I just feel like they were so far ahead of their time. Just a group of ridiculous individuals that wanted to get high and talk about random shit. Obsessed with Kung-Fu and shit. Pretending to be Japanese. Having like 11 different nicknames. Incredible. Imagine if Wu was around today? In this absurd world of immediate social response and shit? It would be bananas. But seriously how many names did Method Man have? 43?

Without further ado, the greatest song in the history of rap music. A 6 minute metaphor for each individual’s lyrical prowess. And none better than Inspectah Deck…

 

I bomb atomically, Socrates’ philosophies
and hypothesis can’t define how I be droppin these
mockeries, lyrically perform armed robbery
Flee with the lottery, possibly they spotted me
Battle-scarred shogun, explosion when my pen hits
tremendous, ultra-violet shine blind forensics
I inspect you, through the future see millenium
Killa B’s sold fifty gold sixty platinum
Shacklin the masses with drastic rap tactics
Graphic displays melt the steel like blacksmiths
Black Wu jackets queen B’s ease the guns in
Rumble with patrolmen, tear gas laced the function
Heads by the score take flight incite a war
Chicks hit the floor, diehard fans demand more
Behold the bold soldier, control the globe slowly
Proceeds to blow swingin swords like Shinobi
Stomp grounds and pound footprints in solid rock
Wu got it locked, performin live on your hottest block”

 

And there you have it. Obviously, there about 1 billion examples of songs that embody what hip-hop should be/was at one time. These 5 songs hold a place in my heart and finding just 5 was pretty tough. I even surprised myself with what I ended up with on this list. The point is this. At one point in time, hip-hop was a shining example of lyrical and poetic geniuses showcasing their talent to the world. For the love of the music. For the advancement of a culture. What it has become is nothing short of a crying shame. If only the majority of these guys could school today’s youth on what real talent and dedication to a craft is capable of producing. I guess at the end of the day we should just be thankful that we will always songs like these, among the countless other examples, to look back upon and appreciate greatness for what it’s worth. In the meantime, I’ll just keep playing this shit on my iPod and blindly convince myself that it is the only music that actually exists. Fuck.

 

Sidenote: Hey, Cappadonna, find your own friends bro. No room for you in the Wu.

 

Double Sidenote: Of all people for Raekwon to shoutout for having bounce, Rod Strickland is sneaky the biggest upset of all time. Like really dude? Of all people you decided that Rod Strickland was the NBA player you wanted to shoutout? Interesting take. Kinda respect it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

