Rapsody ft. Chance The Rapper & Big K.R.I.T – Lonely Thoughts

Posted: December 11, 2013 by woody in Artist of the Week, Music
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

So technically this is Rapsody’s song, which you will find on one of the best projects put out all year She Got Game, but Chance spits possibly my favorite verse I’ve heard from him on this track, so I figured I’d make an exception and put this up. Obviously Rapsody does the damn thing on her verse, as does K.R.I.T, but I think Chance stole the show on this one. He said, “I’m a paraplegic parrot with a pair of crutches in a no fly zone, on the phone talking bout how Bush trying to disparage us”. Basically meaning he see’s all the wrongs and injustices in the world, but he’s incapable of doing anything about it because he’s paraplegic, so he’s doing what a parrot does and just repeating them to us. Also, even if he could do something about it, he’s in a no fly zone, so the government wouldn’t allow him to get away with it. Quite the picture he paints with that metaphor, and the literary assonance he uses in those two lines is on some next level shit. Actually, not just those two lines, his whole damn verse is like that. And I love how you can hear his ringtone go off in the background during the take so he ends his verse with, “And you can tell I rapped this off my phone, cause you can hear that ringtone in the background, but I’m in the zone”. Fucking spectacular.

Leave a Reply

