New Artist of the Week – ANTHM

Posted: May 7, 2013 by woody in Artist of the Week, Music
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Well that was one hell of a birthday weekend. Back to reality. Except I live a pretty fake life in the first place, so I guess it’s not really back to reality. Anyways, this week’s artist of the week is one of the best kept secrets in hip hop. Not really sure where this guy is from, couldn’t find that much about him when I tried to look it up, that’s how obscure he is. The only reason I have even heard of him is because he recently had an EP called “Handful of Dust” that was produced by Blu, who is probably in my top 3 favorite rappers of all time. But I was going through a bunch of his work today and I was impressed. I hadn’t heard anything that wasn’t done with Blu until today, so he’s basically as new to me as he will be to you guys. First track I’ll throw up is called “Manhattan”, the place where he made a name for himself, first as a trader on Wall St. to support his family, until being discovered by his mentor and collaborator, who I only know as DG, who realized his full potential and started making music with him during the nights after working Wall St. during the day to pay the bills. Pretty dope video to go with a great song. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

