Child Of The 90’s

Posted: January 31, 2013 by woody in Fun, TV
Tags: , , , , ,

I was just having this conversation the other day with my friends, what happened to commercials? I’ll be watching TV and when a commercial break comes, I start channel surfing in order to avoid all the bullshit I see on the boob-tube. But every so often it just so happens that every show or sporting event that I would want to watch is on a commercial break, and my world gets turned upside down and I’m at a loss for words and horrified of what is undoubtedly coming next, a time period of about 1-4 minutes of having to watch the most idiotic, fucking dumb ass bullshit advertisements that have nothing to do with ANYTHING. Half the time I don’t even know what they advertisement is selling. The acting and writing is just straight up corny (another one of those insults that has lost its luster over the years, but back in the day you wouldn’t wanna be caught dead being corny). I’ll admit, one out of about every 250 commercials is actually well done or makes me laugh, but they are few and far between nowadays. That being said, Microsoft just came out with this ad for the new Internet Explorer, and I am honestly blown away with how incredibly well put together this commercial was. Here’s a look:

 

Obviously, I’m partial to it because I, myself, am a 90’s baby, but aside from that, this commercial was just perfectly made. Awesome references throughout the entire thing. Life did move slower, having a cool folder did make you the coolest kid in class, Oregon Trail was the best game EVER – until you and all your friends died, people weren’t wasting there time checking their vibrating pockets for their phone – they were talking in to each other in real life face to face scenarios, lunch was a puzzle – not some fucking picture on instagram, the future was so bright. And then to wrap it all up, “you grew up, so did we”. Perfectly ties the entire thing together. It’s weird, I actually know what Microsoft was trying to sell me and how the product is different. Crazy when things actually make sense. But overall just a terrifically made commercial that will make anyone who grew up in the 90’s yearn for the simpler times.

Which brings me to my last point, which I’ve touched on many a times before, WHAT THE FUCK IS GOING ON IN TODAYS SOCIETY. How FUCKED are kids that are growing up these days. Its already bad enough what the current teenage population is into, I can only imagine what all the 5-12 year olds are going to be like a few years down the road. Where did we go wrong America?! WAKE THE HELL UP!!

Leave a Reply

