Top 5 Cartoons On TV

Posted: January 24, 2013 by woody in Fun, TV
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A bit delayed, but as promised, here is the list of the best 5 cartoons that are on TV today. Now, let me just clarify that this will not be including Nicktoons, which is a completely different animal and will get its own list in the near future. I’ll be the first to admit that for the most part, this is a pretty predictable list, but thats only because 3 of my top 5 are going to be on everyone’s list no matter what. Anyone who thinks differently clearly doesn’t know what they’re talking about. So with that out of the way, on to the list.

5) The Simpsons

thesimpsons

Obviously one of the best cartoons out there, given the fact that its been on TV since 1989, which makes it older than me. I feel a little bad putting it at number 5, but my love for the next 4 on the list overpowers my love for The Simpsons. I will say this though, you gotta pay homage to the original and The Simpsons is just that. Everything that any other cartoon show tried to do, any plot they made their show about, anything that happened to the main characters, was all done first by The Simpsons. Granted, they were around before any of the other cartoons out there, but that’s neither here nor there. The Simpsons paved the way for every single cartoon out today and there is just no denying that.

4) Robot Chicken

robotchicken

Written and produced by Seth Green, Robot Chicken made its debut back in 2005. I feel like people don’t really appreciate this show for everything it does in it’s unique 15 minute time slot. A lot of people I know don’t even like the show, probably due to the fact that it’s just a bunch of very short skits that don’t have anything to do with each other for the most part, but it is absolutely hilarious. They make fun of celebrities just as well as anyone out there, and who doesn’t like poking fun at those who are famous with tons of money when your sitting home on your couch hating your life. That’s as American as it gets folks. I highly recommend checking out their “Star Wars” episode, the only episode that lasts 30 minutes instead of 15, and one of the only ones where each skit has a common theme. For any Star Wars fans out there, you will be in stitches the entire time.

3) Archer

archer

Probably the least known of the cartoons on my list, which makes sense because it only premiered in 2010, so it hasn’t been around for as long as the other shows. However, from the first episode, I knew that I had found a new favorite show. Archer is just my kind of humor I guess. So subtle and sarcastic, you have to watch an episode more than once to pick up on everything. The premise is basically that the main character, Archer, is a secret agent, and an incredibly talented one at that, who is beyond egotistical and is infatuated with alcohol, sex, and thrills (my kind of guy). There are an impressive amount of famous people who are the voices of characters in this show, including Jessica Walter, Judy Greer, and Jeffrey Tambor (who some of you may recognize from their work on Arrested Development) as well as H. Jon Benjamin and Chris Parnell. Start watching it and I guarantee you won’t be disappointed.

2) Family Guy

familyguy

I feel guilty not putting this at number 1 on my list, simply because creator Seth MacFarlane is from Kent, which is the small town where I reside, but it’s simply not my favorite cartoon, no disrespect to Seth or to Family Guy, because I do think both are flat out hysterical. If you don’t already know about Family Guy, get out from underneath that rock your living under because its been around for almost 15 years now and basically everyone knows about it. And if your one of those people who knows about it but doesn’t watch it because you get offended or whatever from the humor, then you are probably the biggest loser in the world and I wish you the worst.

1) South Park

southpark

And so we finally have #1. South Park. Hands down my favorite cartoon ever. Also has one of the best cartoon characters ever invented, Cartman. Basically 50% of the shit that comes out of Cartman’s mouth makes me spit out milk when I was drinking Budweiser. Trey Parker and Matt Stone, the writers of the show, are absolute geniuses. These guys just simply get it. South Park is the best form of satire I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. No celebrity is safe, no issue is “too iffy” to make fun of. They just don’t draw a line anywhere and continually push the limits of what is even allowed to be on TV. I could do an entire post about my favorite characters, episodes, celebrity appearances, but I’ll save that for another time. It’s been airing since 1997, which is something not many other shows can claim. I’ve watched literally every single episode that has ever come out and it just simply never gets old. Watch it enough and you’ll start to understand what Kenny is actually saying, even back in the early seasons when it is damn near impossible to hear his muffled voice. Do yourself a favor and go watch this show, you might find that it is a lot more intellectual than all the poop jokes and bad language it gets ripped for.

Comments
  1. […] Top 5 Cartoons On TV – The show comes in at #5 here, more or less entirely because of what it used to do rather than what it does now.  Sounds about right. […]

Leave a Reply

