NBA All-Star Starters Named

Posted: January 18, 2013 by woody in NBA, Sports
Tags: ,

2013 NBA All-Star Game to be held in Houston, Texas

So the balloting has finished for this years NBA All-Star Starters. And honestly I’m pretty outraged. But before I get into all that, first I’ll let y’all know who actually made the list. The East’s starting lineup consists of Kevin Garnett, Carmelo Anthony, and Lebron James in the front court and Rajon Rondo and Dwayne Wade in the back court. The West’s starting lineup consists of Dwight Howard, Blake Griffin, and Kevin Durant in the front court and Kobe Bryant and Chris Paul in the back court. So onto why I’m pretty pissed off about the selections. The All-Star game is not only supposed to be the best players, but also the most exciting players to watch in the NBA, in that specific year. Selections shouldn’t be based on reputation, but rather how well a player has performed in that given year. Unfortunately, since the fans are the ones voting, that ends up not usually happening, hence why we saw Yao Ming as a starter for years after he was a relevant NBA player because he had the entire universe of China voting for him.

So, onto what picks really grinded my gears. Starting with the East, Kevin Garnett?! Don’t get me wrong I love the energy he brings every night, and a couple years ago I would say without a doubt he belongs to be a starter, but that’s just not the case anymore. There is a plethora of more deserving power forward/centers who should have been here instead. My personal pick would have been Tyson Chandler. He might average 2 less points, but he does so with 5 less shots a game, scoring more efficiently than any other player in the league, averages 4 more rebounds a game, plays better all around defense, and is on a better team. If anyone was deserving of starting at center for the East this year it was Chandler. Other players I would have put ahead of Garnett include Brook Lopez (18.6 PPG, 7.4 RPG, 2 BPG) David West (16.5 PPG, 8 RPG, 1 BPG) Al Horford (15.5 PPG, 9.6 RPG, 3 APG) Joakin Noah (12.4 PPG, 10.7 RPG, 4 APG, 2 BPG) and Josh Smith (16.5 PPG, 8.3 RPG, 3.7 APG, 2.3 BPG) all of whom also play for better teams than Garnett. The fact that Garnett is a starter is just pure insanity. Just for comparison sake, Garnett averages 14.6 PPG, 7 RPG, 1 BPG and Chandler averages 12.4 PPG, 11 RPG, 1 BPG.

The only other starter I have a problem with on the East is Rajon Rondo. If you know me then you know I hate Rondo for two simple reasons. 1) he’s probably the biggest fucking dick head in the league. They had to kick him off the Olympic team because no one wanted to play with him. and 2) he’s a point guard who can’t shoot. Make a fucking free throw. Dude shot 18% from the free throw line in the finals when they lost to the Lakers a couple years back. That’s just fucking embarrassing. I could shoot 18% with my eyes closed. Easily. Other than those two things, he’s a great player, and if he fixed those two problems he’d arguably be top 3 point guards in the game, maybe even the best. But aside from hate for him, I just flat out don’t think he’s been the best point guard in the East so far. In my mind, there were 2 other guys who are more deserving of being named a starter. First, here’s Rondo’s stats, 13 PPG, 11 APG, 5 RPG, 2 SPG. Now for my young guns who I think have had a better year so far. Kyrie Irving (23 PPG, 5.6 APG, 3.6 RPG, 2 SPG) and Jrue Holiday (19 PPG, 9 APG, 4 RPG, 1.5 SPG). Granted both play on worse teams than Rondo, but I think they both have proved themselves worthy of being named a starter this year. I would go with Irving simply because he’s one of the brightest young stars in the league and if you have watch a Cavs game this year (which I doubt) then you would know how awesome this kid is and how much fun it is to watch him to play. After all, that is what the All-Star game is all about. As for Melo, James, and Wade, obviously no problem at all with those picks. They should find themselves as starters for years to come.

Moving onto the West. I can’t really say that I hate the picks for starters. There’s only 5 spots after all, and all 5 of the named starters are incredibly fun to watch. I get why you would want to watch Blake Griffin in there over other guys. Personally, I like to reward based on performance, so I would have went a different way with this. I would go with a small lineup, start CP3 at point, the biggest and best surprise of the year so far, James Harden, at the 2 (fear the beard), the one and only Kobe Bryant at small forward, Kevin Durant at power forward, and finally I would have to go with Howard, even though the Lakers are well on their way to missing the playoffs. You could argue that Duncan and Gasol (thats Marc, not the fucking goat Pau) are having better, more efficient, well rounded years, playing for better teams, but both guys are just too fundamental for me to start in the All Star Game. Tim Duncan is the fucking “Big Boring” for christ’s sake. No one wants to be bored watching an All Star Game. We want dunks and rejections into the 10th row. Unfortunately for Duncan and Gasol, that is where Howard thrives. Although Blake Griffin also gives us plenty of that, I don’t believe that he imposes his will on the game enough to be an All Star. He should be a dominating force and he’s only averaging 17 PPG and 8 RPG. Obviously those are good numbers, but he should be up around 20+ points and at least 10 rebounds a night. That will come with age I’m sure, but that is the only reason I’m leaving him off the my starters list. Harden has played better than anyone imagined and he is deserving of a start. Go with the small lineup then bring Griffin off the bench to dip his nuts in defenders faces.

Leave a Reply

