NBA Playoff Preview

Posted: May 17, 2012 by woody in NBA

Got another round to play with in the NBA Playoffs. Love that. So starting off in the Eastern Conference, one of the series has the Boston Celtics vs. Philadelphia 76ers. As of now, the series is tied at 1-1, and game 3 is currently on, with the Celtics up 2 in the early second quarter. People have been sleeping on the Sixers ever since their late-season slip in the standings. But they are deep, they are young, and they play extremely good defense. Plus, when even bench players are coming out and saying, “We want the Bulls (1st place team at the time) in the playoffs, we match up better against them.”, you know they aren’t backing down from any opponent. That being said, I have a ton of respect for basically every player on the Celtics, except for Rondo. However, they are hurt, and in the two and a half games I have seen so far, it has shown for stretches of the game. I know the Celtics should be able to buckle down and beat them, but for some reason I feel uneasy about it. Fuck it, I’m taking Celtics in 7. In the other Eastern Conference series, we got the Miami Heat vs. the Indiana Pacers. Now, let me just say this now, I fucking hate the Heat and everything they stand for. Period. And I have been high on the Pacers all year long, I think Larry Bird has done a fantastic job assembling an actual team instead of just going out and signing high-priced free agents. The series is currently at 1-1, with it shifting back to Indiana for the next two games. I said at the beginning that this would be an incredibly physical series, and it has been to this point. I also said that I thought the series would go at least 6 games, more likely 7, with the Heat winning. However, after watching how well the Pacers match up against the Heat, and with Bosh now out indefinitely, I’m going to change my pick a little. I’m saying Pacers in 6/7, even though I know thats technically cheating. Out in the Western Conference, things are much more clear cut. As we saw in game 1, and probably will see throughout the series, the Los Angeles Lakers simply can’t keep up with the Oklahoma City Thunder. And thats a fact. The Lakers are too old and too slow. The Thunder are also one of the only teams in the league with an answer defensively for the Lakers big men. Out of pure respect for Kobe, I’m saying Thunder in 5, even though I think they could sweep the series. Similarly, in the San Antonio Spurs vs. Los Angeles Clippers series, I don’t think the Clippers have much of a chance. I do like them as a team, and I think next year they will be a title contender, but this is their first time as a team in the playoffs and they are going up against an opponent who makes the playoffs every year since Duncan, Parker, and Ginobili have been playing together. And they are deeper than they have ever been. The Clippers will probably come away with one win on their home court, but thats probably it. Spurs in 5.

Leave a Reply

